Generation Europe: The Youth Encounters are starting!

For months, 30 European youth institutions have been preparing for it, and now it’s getting practical: this weekend, the first international youth encounter within the framework of Generation Europe will begin in Valencia. Nine more encounters will follow this autumn: In Brno (Czech Republic), Minsk (Belarus), Florence (Italy), Sofiko (Greece) as well as in Munich, Groß Thurow, Oberhausen and Bochum (Germany).

Until October 16th, young people from the Steinfurt district (Germany), Telsiai (Lithuania), and the Valencia region (Spain) will meet in Valencia. The ambitious plan: they want to work together over a period of three years, identify local problems and draw up action plans which they implement with the support of their European partners. The purpose of the international meetings is to prepare themselves for this task, to learn from each other and to collectively find a European perspective on local challenges.

Continue reading “Generation Europe: The Youth Encounters are starting!”

A laboratory for Active European Citizenship

Motivating young people to get involved at the location and on the European level: To reach this goal, 30 youth work institutions from 15 European countries united to become the “Generation Europe” network. From the 20th to the 26th of September, the participating youth centres, associations, unions, and institutions will transform Europäische Jugendbegegnungsstätte Weimar (EJBW) into a laboratory for new approaches of European democracy education.

“Active European Citizenship” – utilising this perhaps somewhat unwieldy concept, the participating organisations describe their shared commitment. This means participation instead of resignation, hands-on-democracy instead of frustration about “the powers that be”. In all 30 participating cities, youths are to identify problems at the location and develop local action plans. These plans are then discussed at European youth encounters and realised by the youths with the help of their European partners.

Continue reading “A laboratory for Active European Citizenship”

Generation Europe visiting Marseille

Packing the suitcases, soon we will start: Generation Europe is ready to present itself on the European level!

Even a network can network – this is why Generation Europe – Young Democracy in Action presents itself at the NECE conference in Marseille. From the 6th to the 9th of September actors of civil society from more than 40 countries will meet in the French city in order to deliberate on the challenges for European Democracy Education in a rapidly changing world.

„Networking European Citizenship Education“, this is what the abbreviation NECE means. Together with international partners, the Federal Agency for Civic Education initiated the platform. The goal of the conference: Developing shared strategies on how to defend and support human rights, democracy and the rule of law through civic education.

Continue reading “Generation Europe visiting Marseille”

“Generation Europe” raises its voice

Democracy in Europe has already been in better shape: in many countries, undemocratic and right-wing populist movements are gaining approval. Values ​​such as freedom, democracy and respect for human rights are repeatedly called into question. But young people across the continent will not allow that to go unchallenged. From July 3rd to 8th, representatives of 30 youth organizations and facilities from 15 European countries meet in Bielefeld/Germany to launch a new international network: under the name of “Generation Europe”, they want to motivate young people to engage in political action, in order to strengthen civil society in Europe.

Continue reading ““Generation Europe” raises its voice”

Generation Europe

Generation Europe is an international network of youth work institutions for furthering an active European civil society. It motivates participants towards common political action and creates the necessary foundations. This collaboration is made possible, by a funding programme by the International Association for Education and Exchange e.V. of the same name.

30 youth work institutions from 15 European countries are taking part. The concept: In each case, youths from three countries continually collaborate over a duration of three years in order to get politically involved. We identify problems at the locations, meet in international encounters, and support one another in local projects in order to then take on these problems. We network on a digital liquid-democracy platform and discuss which problematics appear not just on the national level, but can be considered on the European level as well. For this, we are also seeking dialogue with representatives of political institutions on all levels.

By combining our actions at the location with activities on the European level, we develop and test new approaches of a shared European democracy education. In our network, young people are active together, irrespective of origin, parental income, and previous success in formal educational systems.

Generation Europe: Die Jugendbegegnungen starten!

Über Monate haben sich 30 europäische Jugendeinrichtungen darauf vorbereitet, jetzt wird es praktisch: An diesem Wochenende startet die erste internationale Jugendbegegnung im Rahmen von Generation Europe in Valencia. Neun weitere Begegnungen werden noch in diesem Herbst folgen: In Brno (Tschechien), Minsk (Belarus), Florenz (Italien), Sofiko (Griechenland) sowie in München, Groß Thurow, Oberhausen und Bochum (Deutschland).

In Valencia treffen sich noch bis zum 16. Oktober Jugendliche aus dem Kreis Steinfurt (Deutschland), Telsiai (Litauen), und der Region Valencia (Spanien). Der ambitionierte Plan: Sie wollen über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren hinweg zusammenarbeiten, jeweils lokale Probleme identifizieren und Aktionspläne erstellen, die sie mit Unterstützung ihrer europäischen Partner umsetzen. Die internationalen Begegnungen dienen dazu, sich darauf vorzubereiten, voneinander zu lernen, und gemeinsam eine europäische Perspektive auf lokale Herausforderungen zu finden.

„Generation Europe: Die Jugendbegegnungen starten!“ weiterlesen

Ein Labor für aktive europäische Bürgerschaft

Junge Leute dafür zu begeistern, sich vor Ort und auf europäischer Ebene einzumischen: Mit diesem Ziel haben sich 30 Jugendeinrichtungen aus 15 europäischen Ländern zum Netzwerk „Generation Europe“ zusammengeschlossen. Vom 20. bis 26. September machen die beteiligten Jugendzentren, Vereine, Verbände und Einrichtungen die Europäische Jugendbildungs- und Jugendbegegnungsstätte Weimar (EJBW) zu ihrem Labor für neue Ansätze europäischer Demokratiebildung.

„Aktive europäische Bürgerschaft“ – das ist der vielleicht etwas sperrige Begriff, unter den die Organisationen ihr gemeinsames Engagement stellen. Soll heißen: Partizipation statt Resignation, Demokratie zum Mitmachen statt Frust über „die da oben“. In allen 30 beteiligten Städten sollen Jugendliche Probleme vor Ort identifizieren und lokale Aktionspläne entwickeln. Diese Pläne diskutieren sie dann auf europäischen Jugendbegegnungen und setzen sie dann mit Hilfe ihrer europäischen Partner um.

„Ein Labor für aktive europäische Bürgerschaft“ weiterlesen

Generation Europe zu Gast in Marseille

Zusammenpacken, gleich geht’s los: Generation Europe ist bereit, sich auf europäischer Ebene vorzustellen!

Auch ein Netzwerk kann sich weiter vernetzen, deswegen präsentiert sich Generation Europe – Young Democracy in Action auf der NECE-Konferenz in Marseille. Vom 6. bis 9. September kommen zivilgesellschaftliche Akteurinnen und Akteure aus mehr als 40 Ländern in der französischen Hafenstadt zusammen, um über die Herausforderungen für die europäische Demokratiebildung in einer sich schnell verändernden Welt zu beraten.

„Networking European Citizenship Education“, dafür steht die Abkürzung NECE. Zusammen mit internationalen Partnern hat die Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung die Plattform ins Leben gerufen. Das Ziel der Konferenz: Gemeinsam Strategien zu entwickeln, wie zivilgesellschaftliche Bildungsarbeit Menschenrechte, Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit verteidigen und fördern kann. „Generation Europe zu Gast in Marseille“ weiterlesen

Die „Generation Europe“ meldet sich zu Wort

Die Demokratie in Europa war schon mal in besserer Verfassung: In vielen Ländern gewinnen undemokratische und rechtspopulistische Bewegungen an Zustimmung. Werte wie Freiheit, Demokratie und Respekt für die Menschenrechte werden immer wieder in Frage gestellt. Doch junge Menschen auf dem gesamten Kontinent nehmen das nicht unwidersprochen hin. Vom 3. bis 8. Juli treffen sich Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von 30 Jugendeinrichtungen aus 15 europäischen Ländern in Bielefeld, um ein neues internationales Netzwerk ins Leben zu rufen: Unter dem Namen „Generation Europe“ wollen sie junge Menschen noch stärker zu politischem Handeln motivieren, um die Zivilgesellschaft in Europa stärken.

„Die „Generation Europe“ meldet sich zu Wort“ weiterlesen

Generation Europe

Generation Europe ist ein internationales Netzwerk von Jugendeinrichtungen zur Förderung einer aktiven europäischen Zivilgesellschaft. Es motiviert die beteiligten Jugendlichen zum gemeinsamen politischen Handeln und schafft die Voraussetzungen dafür. Möglich gemacht wird die Zusammenarbeit durch ein gleichnamiges Förderprogramm des Internationalen Bildungs- und Begegnungswerks e.V.

Beteiligt sind 30 Jugendeinrichtungen aus 15 europäischen Ländern. Das Konzept: Jugendliche aus jeweils drei Ländern arbeiten über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren kontinuierlich zusammen, um sich politisch einzumischen. Wir identifizieren Probleme vor Ort, treffen uns zu internationalen Begegnungen und unterstützen einander bei lokalen Projekten, um diese Probleme anzugehen. Wir vernetzen uns auf einer digitalen Liquid-Democracy-Plattform und diskutieren, welche Problemlagen nicht nur national auftreten, sondern möglicherweise auch europäisch zu denken sind. Dabei suchen wir auf allen Ebenen auch den Dialog mit Vertreter*innen politischer Institutionen.

Indem wir unsere Aktionen vor Ort mit Aktivitäten auf der europäischen Ebene verbinden, entwickeln und erproben wir neue Ansätze einer gemeinsamen europäischen Demokratiebildung. In unserem Netzwerk sind junge Menschen gemeinsam aktiv, und zwar unabhängig von Herkunft, Einkommen der Eltern und bisherigen Erfolg im formalen Bildungssystem.